General


What is tbh?

tbh is an app for giving anonymous feedback to friends. Unlike other anonymous apps, all the feedback is positive.

We built tbh because we believe that social networks should make us feel better about ourselves—not worse.

To be honest, we love our members and we only want the best for them.

How much does it cost?

$0.00 — it's free on the App Store.

When was tbh launched?

tbh was launched on August 3rd, 2017 in the State of Georgia.

When will it be available on Android?

We don’t have a release date at this time. However, it's planned.

Where is tbh available?

tbh is now available nationwide in the United States.

Why is it called tbh?

tbh stands for to be honest. We want people to share their honest opinions about their friends.

Who built tbh?

tbh was built by a small team of developers and designers in California.

How does tbh make money?

We don’t have plans to monetize tbh right now but when we do, we’ll be soliciting feedback from the community to make sure it complements the experience.

How do I contact tbh’s Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) designated agent?

If you would like to reach our designated agent, you can contact: Facebook, Inc. Attn: Facebook Designated Agent 1601 Willow Road Menlo Park, California 94025 650.543.4800 (phone) ip@fb.com

The App


How does it work?

tbh creates fun, uplifting polls about your friends, like:

  1. ”Who is most likely to be president?”
  2. “Best person to go on a roadtrip with.”
  3. "Too lit to be legit."

The person picked will received a notification each time they are chosen. Although the notification doesn't contain your name, it does include your grade and gender, along with who the other choices were.

How do I add friends?

There are a four ways to add friends:

  1. Via your phone contacts
  2. Via friends username
  3. Via friends-of-friends
  4. By joining your school network

Can I create my own polls?

You can submit polls by swiping to Settings and tapping Submit a poll. We review them every night and if it's funny or interesting, you'll see it on the app in 48 hours.

Remember, all polls must be:

  1. Appropriate for ages 13 and up
  2. Uplifting
  3. Not offensive to any group

What are gems?

💎 Gems are awarded to you each time you get picked in a poll. The gem is pink if a girl picks you, blue if a boy picks you and purple if a non-gender person picks you. They keep track of how many times you've been chosen on tbh. You can use them to unlock questions and other features in the future.

Can I direct message people?

Direct messages are available to select users. This allows you to reply to your poll responses. The recipient has the choice to reveal themselves or ignore your message.

Can I find out who sent me a tbh?

No, all messages are sent anonymously. For now, we recommend posting on Snapchat or Instagram to see if the sender will reveal themselves.

Are the messages real?

We guarantee that every single message you receive is sent by your friends. To date, tbh users have sent over 150 million messages to each other. We have no need to generate fake messages.

Does tapping a name invite them to the app?

The only way to invite friends is by tapping Invite next to their name in the Add Friends screen.

Your trust is important so tbh never sends invites without you knowing. For example, selecting people in polls who are not users will never send them an invitation.

How do I unhide someone from the Add Friends screen?

Logout of your account and log back in.

I don't want to receive invitations to tbh.

tbh only sends invitations if a user deliberately taps Invite on your name.

It works just like the invitation button that you might find on Dropbox, LinkedIn or Facebook. The sender's name is always included on the invitation itself so you know who it came from.

The best way to stop invitations is to ask the sender to stop inviting you to apps in the future. Alternatively, you can always reply NOPE to any text message and they will no longer be sent to that number.

Account


How do I sign up?

Signing up is easy. You can download the app from the App Store here.

Why are my contacts in polls? How do I remove them?

Until you have 4 friends, we use your contacts as placeholders in the polls so you can still play the game. However, your contact names will always be hidden in poll responses sent to friends.

We care deeply about your privacy and will never share personal information to other users.

How do I remove a friend?

Go to your profile and tap added and then "Remove Friend".

Are my gems visible to my friends?

There are two areas where users can see your gems:

Your Top 3 Gems are on your profiles. However, you can always hide them by tapping Edit, and then flipping the switch that says "Hide my gemlist".

Your recent gems are shown in the newsfeed. However, you can also hide gems from the feed by tapping the 🔒 icon in the bottom left corner.

Why did my inbox disappear?

Your inbox resets every few days so it doesn’t get cluttered. Don’t worry though, you still retain all your gems in your gem list but they would be located on your Profile.

Why do I need a phone number and contacts?

tbh uses your phone number and contacts to identify you, find your friends, and let your friends find you. Your phone number is never shared with other users.

Why do I need to provide location access?

tbh uses your location to find nearby school networks to join.

Should I use my real name?

You should always use your full real name so your friends can find you and you don’t get mistaken for someone else. This means:


If we find you breaking these rules, we will have to revoke your account.

Someone is impersonating me. What do I do?

The first step to report impersonation is emailing us at support@tbhtime.com. We will review your report and follow up with you as soon as possible. This process can take up to 48 hours so please bear with us.

My friend signed up with my phone number and now everything is mixed up.

We use phone numbers to identify you so you should never share phone numbers when signing up. If you do, please delete the app from your friend's phone and sign up again on your phone. You may need to select a new username. It can take up 48 hours for your messages to be fixed.

How do I log out?

Go to your profile and tap Edit, then under account settings tap "Manage".

How do I deactivate my account?

Go to your profile and tap Edit, then under account settings tap "Manage". When you deactivate your account, your friends won't be able to find or vote on you. After 30 days, your account will be deleted. If you'd like to reactivate your account before that happens, just login to tbh with your phone number.

Schools


How do I join my school?

When you signup, pick your school and grade. If you skip this step, you can add your school by going to your profile and tapping Edit. You’ll be able to search for your school from there. At this time, we only support high schools, colleges, and universities.

I put in my wrong school/grade/name. What do I do?

We only allow one school, grade or name change per account. If a change was made in error, you can contact us by tapping Get Help in the app and explaining the situation.

My school is not listed—how do I join it?

The tbh high school & college list is mostly complete but from time-to-time we miss one. Please contact us at support@tbhtime.com with the name of the school and its city.

What grades or ages is tbh designed for?

To protect the privacy of younger people, we only support Grades 9 and above. Users under 13 years old should not use or download tbh.

If you are a parent of a pre-teen, we urge you to set parental controls on your minor's phone to prevent access to social networking applications. Instructions can be found here. In addition, we also recommend third party services like Circle to control access to content and manage screentime.